Why You Should Take Care of Your Chakras

Are you feeling sad, but can’t pinpoint why? Does your energy run out as you battle fatigue on a daily basis? If you’re feeling out of balance in any way, it could be that you need to get in tune with your chakras.

The Sanskrit term for disk or wheel, chakras are the energy system of your body. They align with its nerve centers and influence every aspect of your overall well-being—your emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual health.

When chakras are balanced and open, a vibrant energy (or prana) flows freely throughout your body. But if there’s a problem with any of your chakras, that energy force is blocked, and that can manifest itself in any number of ways, depending on which chakra is affected.

The first step to keeping your chakras in harmony with each other is building awareness of what they are. There are seven main chakras in the body, which run from the head down to the bottom of the spine. There are other minor chakras, but the main ones are a great place to start your chakra alignment.

  1. Muladhara – This first chakra is also called the root chakra. Located near the first three vertebrae at the base of the spine, it influences our sense of security. All chakras correspod to a color in the rainbow spectrum; Muladhara’s color is red.
  2. Svadhisthana – Orange in color, the sacral chakra is located below the belly button and above the pubic bone. Not surprisingly, Svadhisthana relates to pleasure and sexuality, as well as creative passions and pursuits.
  3. Manipura – The glowing yellow third chakra occupies the space between the naval and the breastbone. This solar plexus chakra is our body’s center, which gives us a sense of self-control and self-determination.
  4. Anahata – The green heart chakra is the crucial middle link between our lower and upper chakras. Love – for yourself as well as others – abounds when Anahata is in full alignment.
  5. Vishuddha – When we can speak our truth to the world, that’s a function of our fifth chakra. The blue Vishuddha is the throat chakra, and it governs the neck, mouth, tongue, and glands in that area of the body.
  6. Ajna – Also known as the third eye chakra, Ajna relates to our thoughts and intuition. Located between the eyebrows, its color is indigo.
  7. Sahasrara – The seventh and final chakra is the crown chakra, named for its location at the top of the head. White or violet in color, it represents our spiritual connection to a greater power and the best, most enlightened version of ourselves.

Now that you know the basics of chakra, you can learn how to keep them balanced. That involves connecting and checking in with them on a regular basis. This can be done in several ways, such as yoga, Reiki massage, or journaling, but an ideal way is through meditation.

Firefly offers restorative chakra-based meditation sessions. Each class focuses on a particular chakra and includes gentle stretching, breathing exercises, a sound bath, and a 20-minute guided meditation that allows you to explore your chakras and bring them into alignment. We offer free virtual sessions the first Monday of every month on Facebook LIVE and Instagram LIVE, as well as pay-what-you-can classes throughout each month on Zoom. In addition, you can make an appointment for a semi-private or private class. Visit our meditation page to learn more about our classes, and see the difference healthy chakras can make in your life.

Why You Should Take Care of Your Chakras

Sign Up!

Receive Spa News, Event Updates, and Special Savings!

Thank you! We will be in touch soon!